## **Court Information Release**



Release Date: May 15, 2017 United States District Court Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division 219 South Dearborn Street, Chicago, Illinois 60604

> Contact: Julie Hodek, Public Information Officer United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois 219 S. Dearborn St., #2548 Chicago, IL 60604 312-435-5693 julie\_hodek@ilnd.uscourts.gov

## EIGHTEENTH ANNUAL AWARDS FOR EXCELLENCE IN PRO BONO AND PUBLIC INTEREST SERVICE

CHICAGO – The United States District Court's Eighteenth Annual Awards for Excellence in Pro Bono and Public Interest Service is scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m., Wednesday, May 24, 2017, in the James Benton Parsons Memorial Courtroom (2525) of the Everett McKinley Dirksen United States Courthouse at 219 South Dearborn Street in Chicago, Illinois. These awards will honor attorneys for their contributions in helping people most in need of assistance before the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. The program is open to all attorneys and those interested in pro bono and public interest law and is free of charge.

This annual ceremony recognizing pro bono and public interest service before the Court is sponsored jointly by the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association. **Hon. Michael J. Newman**, the National President of the Federal Bar Association, will be the keynote speaker.

The Hon. Michael J. Newman is a United States Magistrate Judge in the Southern District of Ohio. His longstanding commitment to the FBA includes: service as both president of the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky and Dayton chapters (which was named Chapter of the Year during his tenure); two terms as a Sixth Circuit Vice President; election—to the national Board of Directors, as Treasurer, and as President-Elect; a presidential appointment to chair the FBA's Task Force on Elections for two successive years; service on the Editorial Board of The Federal Lawyer and as Judicial Profiles Editor; chairing the FBA's Magistrate Judge Task Force; serving on the Chapter Activity Fund Committee, co-chairing the Conference Leadership Training & Agenda Committee; and co-chairing the Professional Ethics Committee. Judge Newman's longstanding commitment to diversity within the bar includes service as Secretary of the Roundtable, a joint effort by the Cincinnati Bar Association and the Black Lawyer's Association of Cincinnati. In 2015, he co-chaired the FBA's Diversity Task Force charged with drafting the FBA's diversity statement. As FBA president, Judge Newman will be focusing on two initiatives: civics and service to others. First, the FBA will be assisting and encouraging federal judges to interact with students in and out of the courtroom, among other civic and community service efforts. Second, the FBA will be expanding the existing SOLACE program to a national audience, thereby assisting those in the legal community throughout the country with dire needs.

The awards program will also feature comments and introductions by **Chief Judge Rubén Castillo** and **Sheri H. Mecklenburg**, President of the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association.

The United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois and the Chicago Chapter of the Federal Bar Association proudly recognize the following award winners who will all be publicly recognized at the May 24 ceremony:

Awards for "Excellence in Public Interest Service"

Jaime Dowell of McKenna Storer

John J. Held of McAndrews Held & Malloy Ltd.

Morgan, Lewis, and Bockius LLP

Awards for "Excellence in Pro Bono Service"

George D. Sax of Scharf Banks Marmor LLC

Linda T. Coberly of Winston & Strawn

J. Simone Jones of Sidley Austin

- Alan S. Mills of the Uptown People's Law Center and Sheila A. Bedi, Vanessa Del Valle, and Alexa Van Brunt of the Macarthur Justice Center
- Whitney K. Siehl of Cassiday Schade LLP
- Jeffrey J. Scolaro of Daley Mohan Groble, P.C.
- Troy D. Hoyt and Lisa M. Kpor of Holland & Knight LLP
- Heather L. Kramer, Melanie J. Chico, and Courtney M. Ofuso (formerly) of Dykema Gossett PLLC

Kirk Watkins of Freeborn & Peters LLP

Barry R. Horwitz and Richard D. Harris of Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Robert M. Winter and Christine R. Frymire of Robbins, Salomon & Patt, Ltd.

Wendi E. Sloane and Andrew E. Nieland of Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP

Patrick M. Collins, Adam L. Marchuk, Carline A Teichner, Kristen S. Smith, and Mitchell A. Meneau of Perkins Coie

David J. Stein and Frank J. DelBarto at Masuda, Funai, Eifert & Mitchell, Ltd.

Joan E. Ahn of Burke, Warren, MacKay & Serritella, P.C.

Stephen J. Rosenfeld and Cristina M. Salvato of Mandell Menkes LLC

- **Collette A, Brown, Gerald A. Golden, Jill B. Berkeley, and Natalie S. Federle (formerly)** of Neal Gerber & Eisenberg
- Jacie C. Zolna of Myron M. Cherry & Assoc.
- Mark A. Scarlato and Mark Galler Jr. (formerly) of Fornaro Law
- Tracy B. Farley of Quarles & Brady
- Melanie E. Walker, Kendra L. Stead, Daniel C. Craig, Laura A. Sexton (formerly), and Daniel M. Greenfield (formerly) of Sidley Austin LLP
- Daniel M. Greenfield (formerly), Benjamin R. Brunner, Jeffrey R. Carroll, and Basaria Karim of Sidley Austin LLP
- Joanne B. Bruzgul of Bruzgul & Associates, Ltd., Ross S. Carponelli of Carponelli Law Offices, LLC, William F. Bochte of Bochte, Kuzniar & Navigato, P.C., Bruce D. Goodman of Steinberg, Goodman, and Kalish, Peter G. Baroni of Leinenweber Baroni & Daffada LLC, Michael J. Kralovec of Kralovec Meenan LLP, David E. Schwartz of Kralovec, Jambois & Schwartz, and Kevin J. Young of Thompson Coburn, LLP